Where we get fit and spin (wool)

Why Fiber?

Everyone just looks at you when you say “I have a fiber hobby”.  While it is unusual, it is growing in popularity. Go to any fiber festival. For me, the draw was the ability to go from a raw product, right off a sheep, to a finished product. I have spent a good bit of money on equipment, but when you think of processing most things, it is really inexpensive. Can you imagine growing and grinding wheat to make bread? But wool, silk and cotton are relatively easy to grow and process. The beauty of the finished product is so entrancing as well

I started out life in love with art, fine art. I grew up with mixed feelings about “crafts”. I loved doing them, but they were disdained by the art community. However, seeing some of the stuff from the 60’s and 70’s, makes that understandable. I’m not sure when I first saw crafts raised to art, but since then I have seen it over and over. Even knitted clothes can be art. Certainly I have seen quilting and knitting unquestionably raised to art, and even some of the knitting has been in art galleries.

While this makes me happy, I don’t need what I do to be art, as I had a backlash of attitude towards art. I love beautiful things that are useful as well. I have become so practical, that art for arts sake bothers me. Please don’t take that as a slam on art, I just can’t participate in that form any more. I would rather paint on a wall, than create a painting that will just end up being more stuff accumulated in your life. I wish everything you looked at and touched was beautiful, but not extraneous.

The last point that I would like to make is that I have found I am obsessed with the process, the end product is almost incidental. Once the project is finished, my interest is diminished.

What do you think? Do you have thoughts on art, crafts, process or the finished product?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

