Where we get fit and spin (wool)

Goals and accomplishments

I’m so excited by what I’ve accomplished in the past two days that I have to share it. I’m currently taking a class in web design to add to my skills. I’ve been a digital photo retoucher, using photoshop for the last decade. I used to be on the cutting edge of technology, but as we all know, no matter how much you learn, it keeps changing and you have to keep up. I haven’t been keeping up, so there is a lot I don’t know how to do. So, I started with this class, but it is basically just teaching dreamweaver. Not that that is a bad thing, but websites encompass  a lot more, including being hosted. Today, I purchased my first host site.  I haven’t actually put the site up, but I did take the first step. Yesterday, I bit the bullet and purchased my own copy of creative suite (ouch!). Up till now I’ve been using the school’s and a friends.  If you are a young person reading this, you are probably laughing, new stuff is no big deal. As we get older, we get into ruts, and new things seem bigger and scarier than they are. ( I know I’m generalizing.)

In any case, I feel like I’m taking big, positive, steps into a brave new world. (want to count how many cliches I can put in one post?) I know I have a lot more to learn, but I have been surprised at the amount of support I’ve gotten. I thought I’d get a lot more people sneering at amateur dabbling, but so far I’ve gotten nothing but positive, encouraging feedback.

Changing the subject, I am canning apples and working on wesites. Talk about worlds colliding. Will we even be able to use the word anachronism in the future?

If anyone has a comment, I would love to hear other peoples stories of “stepping out”. Also, is there a visual icon of the web? I wanted to put one on this post, but I can’ think of a visual representation of it.visual representation of the web This is all I got in a google search.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

