Where we get fit and spin (wool)

My Gym Saga Continues

I just wanted to get this out there. After two weeks at the gym, I’m starting to settle in and get comfortable. Here are my current impressions:

  1. I work harder at a gym. I don’t know if it is pride, excitement or what. I end up with shaky muscles at the end of every workout.
  2. I work less. See number one. Two days a week are plenty. After the first round of the smith machine, I couldn’t walk for two days. While it is building on what I started at home, my legs are starting to look like my arms.
  3. I’m still finding things out. It is hard to just go explore. There are always people there, and they are strangers, so I am a bit uncomfortable with just playing. I just found out, after seeing someone else use it, that there is a piece of equipment perfect for doing I’s,Y’s, T’s and W’s. I might even use some of the machines. Maybe.
  4. I have worked up the nerve to do some crazier stuff.  There are foot pegs on some of the weight benches, just the right height for hooking my feet under to do hamstring curls.
  5. It is still strange to do things that would be embarrassing in other circumstances. I don’t make eye contact with people too often, and they ignore you too. Or if they do watch you, they are surreptitious about it, which is fine by me. You can laugh at me, as long as I don’t know it.
  6. I’m still in no-woman’s-land. While there are women at the weights, we are still outnumbered, something like 8 to 1.
  7. I don’t know how someone who is not exercise savvy would join this particular gym and get anything out of it if they didn’t get help from a trainer. Just having the equipment there, without direction, would be very daunting and uncomfortable.

So that’s the state of things now. I will keep updating this as I go.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

