Where we get fit and spin (wool)

Holiday?

Our word holiday is used in the rest of the world for vacation. Hilarious, isn’t it? I say this as I am slowly driving myself mad from trying to be wonder woman. Or else a distracted hamster. I am not young. I do know better. Yet…still… every year. Of course, I can also blame it on my workplace closing. In any case, I had a twenty minute workout this morning. Why? Because I COULD. NOT. FIND. MY. FLIPPING. PHONE.  After wasting an hour searching, I rushed off and got in what I could, all the time mourning the loss of my notes, calendar, phone numbers and audio book. Now, I had it that morning, I didn’t leave the house with it, so it was a bit of an overreaction. As I was driving to work, I was scolding myself for making my phone my security blanket instead of God. My husband came to my rescue, hours later, as he called it and heard it calling back to him, from the bedroom it had never left. *sigh*

stressed out person

I'm fine, really I am.

Now, why did I lose my phone? Could it be from the mental fog caused by insomnia? Could that be caused by cleaning fits at 10pm? Could that be caused by ridiculously worrying about impressing people who’ve been to my house, so can’t have too high of expectations? It is possible.

The worst part is, I know better. I do, I really do. Which leads me back to one of my favorite sayings, “knowing isn’t enough”. However, I will take this mornings ineptitude as a wake up call to take better care of myself. THIS DOES NOT INVOLVE LARGE QUANTITIES OF CARBOHYDRATES! Taking care of yourself means: making time for working out- it’s a great stress reliever and sleep aid. Taking time to pray. And not the kind of praying I did this morning- “God, pleaseletmefindit, please.PLEASE? Puhlease?” Not over scheduling. Taking time to unwind. Setting a deadline each day for work- don’t work after 6 or 7 pm. Eating well- not all the sugar that comes with the holidays. Learning the meaning of good enough. Remembering the whole point of getting together with friends and family is friends and family, not impressing them with your house. (Ha, like I could?)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

