Where we get fit and spin (wool)

Goodbye, Planet Fitness

Today was my last day of working out at Planet Fitness. It was also my last day at work, but that is to personal to talk about. Instead, I am bidding goodbye to my first gym. I know it gets no respect, and, considering some of the things I have read, maybe some shouldn’t. They are not the most friendly chain to those who are interested in getting in shape, in fact, they have a “lunk alarm”.planet fitness "lunk alarm"In spite of this, it was my first gym. It helped me make the transition from working out at home to using a public facility. From what I’ve read, my particular one was far friendlier to weightlifters than the average P.F.. I went from deadlifting 60lbs to 120 there. It was my first chance to use heavy weights and use equipment I can’t afford to own. I made friends there, but again, too personal to discuss via the internet.

So I move on now, to a much smaller local gym. In many ways it is a better gym. I finally will have my squat rack. But it is still a change. New people, new customs, new habits. *sigh* In many ways, it is a metaphor for everything I am dealing with right now. No matter if better things lie in wait, I liked what I had, and I will miss it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

