Where we get fit and spin (wool)

More Support.

I know, do I have to keep hammering on the benefits of exercise? Don’t we all know it by now? No. If we did, we wouldn’t be talking about the obesity epidemic. The quote below came from an article I read today from balanced living blog. This is a quote from Rachael Ray:

“I didn’t start meaningful exercise until I was 40 and I feel really guilty about that now that I’m a few years into running six days a week. I really feel like I missed out a lot in my adult years,” the now-43-year-old tells omg! from Yahoo!. “I wish I had those other 25 years back between when you’re forced to go to gym class and where I’m at now. There were a lot of years where I thought that just working really hard was the equivalent of having exercise every day in your life, and it really isn’t.”

Ray — who also hits the gym every morning with her husband of six years, Jon Cusimano — insists that it’s not just exercise’s physical benefits that have turned her into a workout junkie. “It really makes me feel mentally so much more on point, so much more even. I don’t lose my temper. I don’t get lost in the middle of the day,” she shares. “I just have a much cleaner, clearer vision every day and I can get so much more accomplished mentally by moving physically every day.”

C’mon, does it get any better than that? I love what she says about “forced in gym class”. Anyone who reads this would think I’m some kind of athlete. Anyone who knew me growing up would be astonished at that. As a teenager I actually said, out loud, and meant it:”If my legs were paralyzed it wouldn’t change my life much, everything I love is mental.” My, how times have changed! I was uncoordinated, had lousy balance and didn’t like team sports. I still can’t run well. If they had a way to have kids explore their interests in things like lifting, martial arts, yoga, non competitive aerobics, etc. Then maybe kids wouldn’t be so anti gym. Gym should be about making you the best you, not about seeing who’s the best at dodgeball, and humiliating those who aren’t. Anyway, once you learn to love your body and what it can do, it changes everything.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

