Where we get fit and spin (wool)

I will be the first to admit that going that extra distance on healthy eating is a challenge. When we look at the typical Western diet (what a cliche that’s become!), there is much about it that is more about convenience, profit or taste rather than health. Lets review for a second what we know about good food:

  • Fresh is best, followed by frozen, dried and canned.
  • Vegetables are the powerhouses of nutrition, and what is least consumed in a typical diet.
  • Vegetables, being low in calories, should form the bulk of our diets, since we all love to eat.
  • Fresh food is best locally grown, since then it isn’t wasting gas being shipped, and losing nutrients on the way.
  • It is good, if possible, to avoid pesticides, and other chemicals in our diets

Knowing all this, we should all be growing as much of our own food as possible. However, once you grow all this goodness, what do you do with it? Learning about canning and freezing is it’s own field of learning. Also, what do you do with all that kale?

So that is what this blog article is about. My experiments to get as much of the green stuff in as possible. Lets start with the garden:

broccoli in the garden

Broccoli- the leaves are greens too.

lettuce and chard

lettuce and chard- all greens can be used interchangeably. Yes, you can cook lettuce.

Beet greens and kale

more greens, kale and beet tops.


As you can see, you can be harvesting from your garden from early spring- don’t wait to put the lettuce, peas and spinach in, all through the summer, but much of that is just the greens. Those are the most nutritious parts, but how often can you have them sauteed or in a salad before you get tired of them? So I have been experimenting with getting ways more greens in. I have my little magic blender knock off, and I’ve been pureeing the greens and adding them to my morning oatmeal. Many people make green smoothies, blending the greens with fruit and milk. When kale is blended, it has a lovely fresh green taste, like eating summer. However, I realize that many people would not find that appealing. I’ve also chopped them and added them to my tuna or pasta salads. I think that is great, but again, I would add a little at a time, gradually increasing the amount to get used to it.

As you can tell, I’m all about grinding them up and using them as biomass. First, you can get a lot more in you in an unobtrusive fashion.  If I stuff my little blender full, it grinds down to about 1/4 cup. This also gets you past the texture problem, as kale and broccoli can be a bit tough. I’m still working on how to get this mixture into other foods, to get the less enthusiastic members of the family on board. Today I tried adding it with eggs.

First, I ground the greens, then I threw them on the griddle with dried tomato and basil:

ground greens on a griddle. Looks like baby poop.

M-m-m-m, looks yummy, doesn’t it?

Well, I’m thinking “this is not looking like a winner”. But, I persist, adding some chopped onion, egg and cheese:

greens and eggs

Now, that looks better. Not.

But, me being me, I go through with it and eat it:

finished egg dish

I don’t know how it looks to you, but it looks better than it has a right too and wasn’t bad tasting.

So this was the finished product. It tasted better than I hoped. My biggest complaint was that it was a bit dry. Don’t blend your eggs- it takes all the structure out of them, taking away that “eggy” texture. It was odd that it was dry, since you have to add some liquid to blend the kale, and veggies are mostly liquid. I probably cooked the greens too long. I will try this again, it was good enough to do that.

In other veggie cooking news, kale chips are all they are cracked up to be, and more. Very addictive. I wonder if my other greens can be cooked the same way? I’ll try and let you know.

Comments on: "Healthy Eating at it’s Finest" (2)

  1. Have you tried using a spoon full of near smoking cooking oil and quickly stir fry your vegetables? I have and use an assortment of oils, olive oil, sesame seed oil, sun flower seed oil. Each type flavored oil changes the end flavor of your greens to add a variety of taste treats to common greens. Use care Not to over cook any vegetable.
    Using a wok works best for me but a heavy pan or skillet works fine as well. I also make my own flavored oils some times adding a few drops of Louisiana hot sauce or other herbs to flavor the oil.
    Have a Happy, Safe 4th of July

    • I love sesame seed oil. I heard heating at too high a temperature was bad, so I tend to keep it a bit lower. I also add a touch of water, so I don’t have to add as much water. I never tried hot sauce. Garlic and rosemary are my favorite additives. I have to try sunflower oil. Thanks for the good wishes. My gym was closed, horrors! 😉

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

