Where we get fit and spin (wool)

No Turtles Here

tortoise

How slow can you go?

All right, this might come across as bashing other people, and maybe it is. If so, I apologize in advance. However, I can’t help feeling like I want to give the human race a collective shake. It seems to me there are two types of people in the world. The curious, active, ambitious, interested and interesting ones, and then there are the others. I have been running into the others a lot lately. They are the ones who don’t want to know. Anything. They aren’t curious. They don’t ask why. Their main goal in life appears to be to do as little as possible. They are happy to just be, like a turtle basking in the sun. While I don’t have anything against turtles, there ought to be some difference between them and us.

Now I suppose that some Eastern religions would say they have the right of it, I would think, since nirvana is supposed to be the cessation of all desire. Personally, I think it is having those desires and satisfying them is what creates happiness. I would consider a lack of desire to be depression. I have been there, I know.

Isn’t it our desires and drives that what give us a better world? Would we have electricity, indoor plumbing and central heat if someone didn’t have the drive to seek out the solutions to those things? I am glad that someone was driven to find out what causes diseases and how vaccinations could prevent them. My drives aren’t that productive, but I have beautiful fiber crafts, good social relations, interesting work to do, and a myriad of skills because of my drives.

Speaking of which, I believe everyone, I mean everyone, should join at least one organization. Now, I know what you are saying, “I hate meetings and fund raisers.” Well, I do too. But organizations are a large part of what makes our society work and they create so much social benefit. We are watching our governments implode, and they won’t be able to provide public activities using tax payer money for long. It is up to us to provide the public good for ourselves. Plus, they provide social opportunity and support. Everyone needs that. But these volunteer organizations do so much for society in general. Do you like any activities like hiking, horseback riding, cross country skiing or snowmobiling? There is a club out there maintaining those trails. Rails to trails? Mostly volunteer and community support. Do you enjoy art? Acting? Tennis? Hockey? Trains? Airplanes? Race cars? You name it, and there is a club or organization putting effort into bringing that activity to people everywhere and using their enjoyment of it to provide benefit to others. I won’t even go into all the good works done by churches, synagogues, and other religious organizations. They do tremendous work. The great thing about joining an organization is that you do what you can. It is the group effort that multiplies everyone’s modest contribution into a greater product. Here’s my caveat to all the driven people out there; you don’t have to join everything, and it is ok to say no after a certain point. You can only do so much, and there is no point in making yourself crazy.

So many do so much for us all, but there seems to be so many that just paddle through life, content to do nothing till they die. I don’t understand it, and frankly, I don’t approve. The trouble is, anyone who would take the time to read my blog is probably already one of the drivers in society, not the passenger, so I’m preaching to the choir. At least I got it off my chest.

Driven, motivated, passive, reactive, organizations, fund raisers, social, society

Comments on: "No Turtles Here" (1)

  1. I am standing up and applauding. Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

