Where we get fit and spin (wool)

I always say I’m not a foodie, but I did two dishes this week that I thought were worth sharing. I don’t slavishly follow recipes, I find them to be suggestions. Most of the time it works well.

The first is a squash casserole. I was craving anything with squash or pumpkin, and sweets. I looked around the web, and I decided to approximate a pumpkin pie recipe.  All measurements are approximate. I never worry about amounts too much. I thawed a two cups of squash, added 1/4 c. molasses, 1/4 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. w.w. flour, 1/2 cup soaked 9 grain cereal, 1/2 a can of evaporated milk, 1 t. of cinnamon, 1 t. of chinese 5 season spice,   a sprinkle of nutmeg, salt, and ginger and 2 eggs. Oh, I also threw in some pumpkin seeds and some pecans. I mixed and baked at 350 until it looked and smelled good. Hopefully I’ll be able to add a picture later, I emailed it to myself twice, and it still isn’t showing up. It isn’t very pretty anyway, just tasty.

Meatloaf in the pan with ketchup on it.Then I wanted to make a healthier meatloaf. I blended three kale leaves with a hearty splash of the leftover evaporated milk. In a bowl, I added a scant 1/4 c. of wheat bran, two slices of whole wheat bread, some steak seasoning, ketchup, a-1 sauce and Worcestshire, 1 egg and the hamburger, and the contents of the blender. It did have a green hue, but you really couldn’t taste the kale.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

